Media Kit

All the important bits in one place for journalists, book bloggers and reviewers. 

AUTHOR BIOS: 

LONGER BIO: 

As a teen, Tara K. Ross discovered how well-written prose can change the trajectory of a person's life. Case in point: her life. She now passes along this wisdom through her work as a school speech-language pathologist and mentor with local youth programs. She is also blessed with a ridiculously supportive family that grants her time to create stories that tackle the interplay of faith and mental health. FADE TO WHITE is her debut novel (IlluminateYA, May 2020).

When Tara is not writing or reading all things YA, you can find her rock climbing the Ontario escarpment, planning her family's next jungle trek or blogging at www.hopeprose.com.

 

BACK COVER BIO:

Tara K. Ross lives with her husband, two daughters and rescued fur-baby in a field of cookie-cutter homes near Toronto, Canada. She works as a school speech-language pathologist and mentors with local youth programs. When Tara is not writing or reading all things young adult fiction, you can find her rock climbing the Ontario escarpment, planning her family's next jungle trek or podcasting/blogging at www.tarakross.com.

FADE TO WHITE is her debut novel.

MAGAZINE BIO's (50 words or less):

Tara combines her passions of youth ministry, mental health awareness, and YA fiction,  in her blog and podcast, www.hopeprose.com. Her debut YA novel, Fade to White (May 2020), challenges teens to consider the interplay of faith and anxiety in one girl’s story.

Tara K Ross is a youth leader, podcaster, and author of FADE TO WHITE. When she’s not adulting, she climbs the Ontario escarpment and blogs about the interplay of faith and mental at www.hopeprose.com. 

HEAD SHOTS:

SOCIAL MEDIA: 
FADE TO WHITE: 

BACK COVER COPY: 

Thea Fenton’s life looks picture-perfect, but inside, she is falling apart. Wracked by anxiety no one seems to understand or care about, she resorts to self-harm to deflect the pain inside.

When a local teen commits suicide, Thea’s anxiety skyrockets. Unexplainable things happen, leaving her feeling trapped within her own chaotic mind. The lines between reality and another world start to blur, and her previously mundane issues seem more daunting and insurmountable than ever.

Then she meets Khi, a mysterious new boy from the coffee shop who seems to know her better than she knows herself—and doesn’t think she’s crazy. His quiet confidence and unfounded familiarity draw her into an unconventional friendship. 

Khi journeys with her through grief, fear, and confusion to arrive at compassion for the one person Thea never thought she could love. 

A deeply transformational novel from an authentic new voice in Christian young adult fiction.

Click on cover to see animation

PRAISE FOR FADE TO WHITE:

“Relatable, raw, and real, Fade to White is impossible to put down. Tara K. Ross addresses mental health topics with sensitivity and care. Fans of Kasie West and Sarah Dessen will rejoice over this fresh new voice in young adult fiction.”

 

            — Sara Ella, award-winning author of The Unblemished Trilogy and Coral

 

“Fade to White is an achingly relatable and intimate read that will crack open your heart and let the light in. Powerful and affecting, Thea Fenton's journey towards hope and healing is one that sticks with you long after ‘the end.’”

            ​Kim Chance, author of Keeper and Seeker

 

“This heartfelt novel is a gift to society. As today’s young people seek to understand and be understood, they will find great satisfaction in the story's relevance and relatability. Ross has a way with words and a keen sense of the human soul.” 

 

           — Laura Gallier, Author of The Delusion series

 

“Tara K. Ross keeps the pages turning and the heart feeling full in her YA debut. Fade to White is a journey of a girl who learns about her strength and purpose by embracing the concern and empathy she has for others. It’s the story of a girl with the kind of heart that the world surely needs now. Tara K. Ross is a writer to watch and will be on my list of favorites for years to come!”

 

           — Nicole Quigley, award-winning author of Like Moonlight at Low Tide

 

“Honest and vulnerable, Fade to White is a story that I keep thinking about. With a plot that keeps pages turning and a cast of characters who feel like friends, Ross has given us a pure and dignified look into the life of a teen who is facing her mental illness. Without a hint of exploitation or sensationalism this author has given her reader the gift of seeing Thea Fenton's humanity.” 

 

            — Susie Finkbeiner, author of All Manner of Things and Stories That Bind Us

 

“Tara K. Ross has found the perfect blend of cleverly crafted prose, delightfully flawed characters, and brilliantly unique plots that makes her a standout new voice in YA fiction.”

 

            — Taylor Bennett, author of Porch Swing Girl

  

“Tara Ross’s Fade to White is the missing piece that has been so needed in YA fiction now. Readers will not help but fall in love with the main character and relate to her struggles and anxiety. In such a poignant way, the book tackles topics such as self worth, suicide, anxiety, and self harm. This was the book I needed back in high school, and this is the book high schoolers need now. I can’t wait to see what else this author writers in the future. Keep an eye on her. She’s one to watch.”

 

           — Hope Bolinger, author of the Blaze trilogy and the Dear Hero duology.

 

 

“In Thea Fenton we find a character that is both satisfyingly hilarious and painfully relatable, and through her story, we hear a message that is desperately needed by generations both young and old in the midst of these strange and unsettling times. This is a story of hope, and it’s one not to be missed.”

 

           — Maile Silva, co-host of The Stories Between Us Podcast

 

 

“Tara Ross has captured the struggle young adults go through with precision and compassion. Grab a cup of tea and enjoy this one.”

              — Melony Teague, author of A Promise to Keep

 

“Humorous yet touching. Fade to White is sympathetic and convincing—a reminder of the inner demons we all carry. The book is not a magical quick-fix, but it speaks of tangible hope. It is a gateway to countless important conversations about how mental health affects people and communities.”

            — Ilana Reimer, writer and editor of Love Is Moving, Canada’s Christian young adult magazine

 

“With a witty and deep writing style, Tara K. Ross has crafted a book that could not come at a better time. Young adult readers will instantly relate to Thea, and the elements of teen suicide, family strife, and the struggle of finding yourself coalesce to create a much-needed message of hope.”

 

          — Rachelle Cobb, author of Follow the Dawn