FADE TO WHITE

A deeply transformational novel from an authentic new voice in Christian young adult fiction.

Thea Fenton has a unique gift.

Now, she needs to figure out what to do with it.

Thea Fenton’s life looks picture-perfect, but inside, she is disintegrating. Wracked by anxiety no one seems to understand or care about, she resorts to self-harm to deflect the pain inside.

 

When a local teen commits suicide, Thea’s anxiety sky-rockets. Unexplainable things happen, leaving her feeling trapped within her own chaotic mind. The lines between reality and another world start to blur, and her previously mundane issues seem more daunting and insurmountable than ever.

 

Then she meets Khi, a mysterious new boy from the coffee shop who seems to know her better than she knows herself—and doesn’t think she’s crazy. His quiet confidence and unfounded familiarity draw her into an unconventional friendship. 

 

Khi journeys with her through grief, fear, and confusion to arrive at compassion for the one person Thea never thought she could love. 

Sara Ella

Award-winning author of The Unblemished Trilogy and Coral

“Relatable, raw, and real, Fade to White is impossible to put down. Tara K. Ross addresses mental health topics with sensitivity and care. Fans of Kasie West and Sarah Dessen will rejoice over this fresh new voice in young adult fiction.”

Laura Gallier

Award-winning author of

The Delusion Series

“This heartfelt novel is a gift to society. As today’s young people seek to understand and be understood, they will find great satisfaction in the story's relevance and relatability. Ross has a way with words and a keen sense of the human soul.” 

Kim Chance, 

Author of Keeper and Seeker

“Fade to White is an achingly relatable and intimate read that will crack open your heart and let the light in. Powerful and affecting, Thea Fenton's journey towards hope and healing is one that sticks with you long after ‘the end.’” 

Nicole Quigley,

Award-winning author of

Like Moonlight At Low Tide

“Tara K. Ross keeps the pages turning and the heart feeling full in her YA debut. Fade to White is a journey of a girl who learns about her strength and purpose by embracing the concern and empathy she has for others. It’s the story of a girl with the kind of heart that the world surely needs now. Tara K. Ross is a writer to watch and will be on my list of favorites for years to come!” 

Taylor Bennett,

Author of Porch Swing Girl

“Tara K. Ross has found the perfect blend of cleverly crafted prose, delightfully flawed characters, and brilliantly unique plots that makes her a standout new voice in YA fiction.”

Susie Finkbeiner,

Author of  All Manner of Things and The Stories that Bind us.

Honest and vulnerable, Fade to White is a story that I keep thinking about. With a plot that keeps pages turning and a cast of characters who feel like friends, Ross has given us a pure and dignified look into the life of a teen who is facing her mental illness. Without a hint of exploitation or sensationalism this author has given her reader the gift of seeing Thea Fenton's humanity.